Worksheets and No Prep Teaching Resources
Worksheets and No Prep Teaching Resources
Reading Comprehension Worksheets
Three Kinds of Fishes


Three Kinds of Fishes
Print Three Kinds of Fishes Reading Comprehension with Sixth Grade Work

Print Three Kinds of Fishes Reading Comprehension

Reading Level
     edHelper's suggested reading level:   grades 6 to 8
     Flesch-Kincaid grade level:   5.53

     challenging words:    clownfish, filter-feeder, filter-feeders, nuhs, sandpapery, coating, helping, scraping, evolve, manta, organism, provides, covering, estimate, vertebrate, ectotherms
     content words:    Great Lakes

Three Kinds of Fishes
By Cindy Grigg

1     A fish is a type of animal that has a backbone, lives in the water, and has fins. Most fish have scales covering their bodies. Most fish breathe with gills. Fish belong to a very large group! Nearly half of all vertebrates (animals with backbones) are fish. Fishes have been swimming in Earth's waters for more than five hundred million years. That's longer than any other kind of vertebrate has been on Earth. Fish were the first vertebrate animals to evolve.
2     Scientists group fish into three main types. They are divided into these groups because of the structure of their mouths and the types of skeletons they have. There are jawless fishes, cartilaginous (cart uhl AJ uh nuhs) fishes, and bony fishes. All three types are "cold-blooded," or ectotherms. This means that they can't control their body temperature internally. Their body temperature is similar to the temperature of their outside environment.
3     The jawless fishes were the earliest vertebrates. Today there are only about sixty species still living. These fish have no scales. Their skeletons are made of cartilage, a firm, flexible material like the end of your nose. They also do not have pairs of fins like most fish. But the most remarkable thing about these fish is that they do not have jaws! Instead, the mouths of these fishes have structures for scraping, stabbing, and sucking.
4     Hagfishes and lampreys are the only living kinds of jawless fishes. Hagfishes look like big slimy worms! They crawl into the bodies of dead or dying fish and use their sandpapery tongue to scrape the tissues.

Paragraphs 5 to 12:
For the complete story with questions: click here for printable

Weekly Reading Books

          Create Weekly Reading Books

Prepare for an entire week at once!

Feedback on Three Kinds of Fishes
Leave your feedback on Three Kinds of Fishes   (use this link if you found an error in the story)


    Polar Regions  
    Rain Forest  

Copyright © 2018 edHelper