The Great Lakes

Their names are Superior, Michigan, Huron, Erie, and Ontario. They are huge lakes known as the Great Lakes. Four of them are part of the United States' border with Canada. These five lakes can be seen from the moon. Channels connect the Great Lakes to each other.

The total water in the Great Lakes is equal to six quadrillion gallons. Unlike the oceans that contain salt water, the Great Lakes contain freshwater. This water drains into the lakes from eight states: Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and New York. Water also flows into them from Canada.

Lake Superior is the largest of the Great Lakes. It also has the largest surface area of any freshwater lake in the world. The length of the shoreline of Lake Superior is almost as long as the United States is wide. Lake Superior is the deepest of the lakes.

. . . Print Entire Reading Comprehension with Questions