Worksheets and No Prep Teaching Resources
Worksheets and No Prep Teaching Resources
Reading Comprehension Worksheets
Life Science
Animal and Biomes Basics Theme Unit
Six Kingdoms

Life Science
Life Science

Six Kingdoms
Print Six Kingdoms Reading Comprehension with Sixth Grade Work

Print Six Kingdoms Reading Comprehension

Reading Level
     edHelper's suggested reading level:   grades 6 to 8
     Flesch-Kincaid grade level:   9.07

     challenging words:    archaebacteria, eubacteria, eukaryotes, many-celled, membrane-bound, monera, multicellular, photosynthesize, subgroup, prokaryotes, protist, euglena, unicellular, paramecium, nuclear, protists
     content words:    Carolus Linnaeus, Like Aristotle

Six Kingdoms
By Cindy Grigg

1     The first scientist to try to classify organisms was the Greek scholar Aristotle. He classified living things as either plants or animals. Then he divided each of these large groups into smaller groups called subgroups. For example, plants were divided into trees, shrubs, or herbs. Animals were classified by how they moved. Animals that could fly were put into one subgroup. Animals that could swim were in another subgroup. Animals that walked, crawled, or ran were lumped into another subgroup.
2     Nearly two thousand years later, the Swedish biologist Carolus Linnaeus created a different classification system. His idea was to group animals and plants based on similarities in their structures. For example, Linnaeus placed animals into groups based on whether or not they had a backbone. Like Aristotle, Linnaeus divided living things into two large groups - plants or animals. He called these groups "kingdoms." But today's scientists have tools and technology available to them that have allowed them to study organisms more closely. Scientists now realize that some organisms don't quite fit into the plant or animal group. As a result, several other kingdoms of organisms are now used. Today's scientists look at cell structure, how the organism moves, gets food, and reproduces.
3     Some people today use five kingdoms; some use six. This is an explanation of the six kingdom classification system. First is the animal kingdom. Members of the animal kingdom are made up of many cells. Their cells have a nucleus that is contained inside a membrane. All animals get their food by eating other organisms. Animals are divided into two large subgroups: invertebrates (those without backbones) and vertebrates (those with backbones). Examples of vertebrates are fish, frogs, lizards, eagles, dogs, and people. Invertebrate animals include sponges, jellyfish, coral, insects, worms, and sea stars.

Paragraphs 4 to 8:
For the complete story with questions: click here for printable

Weekly Reading Books

          Create Weekly Reading Books

Prepare for an entire week at once!

Feedback on Six Kingdoms
Leave your feedback on Six Kingdoms   (use this link if you found an error in the story)

Life Science
             Life Science

Animal and Biomes Basics Theme Unit
             Animal and Biomes Basics Theme Unit


    Careers in Science  
    Caring for Earth  
    Earth's Land  
    Food Pyramid  
    Food Webs and Food Chain  
    Forces and Motion  
    Health and Nutrition  
    How Things Work  
    Life Science  
    Natural Disasters  
    Plant and Animal Cells  
    Rocks and Minerals  
    Science Process Skills  
    Scientific Notation  
    Simple Machines  
    Solar System  
    Space and Stars  
    Water Cycle  

Copyright © 2018 edHelper